Nov 27, 2015

Review | Every Last Promise by Kristin Halbrook


Title: Every Last Promise by Kristin Halbrook
Series: N/A
Genre: YA - Contemporary
Publication: April 21st 2015 by HarperTeen
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Synopsis:Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate's sexual assault.

Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn't supposed to. But she hasn't told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night—about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer.

Now Kayla's coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything—and everyone—she ever cared about.


Thoughts: When I think about it, Every Last Promise is forgettable. It's a book that focuses on a very sensitive subject but falls flat with characters that are either...boring or horrible. I couldn't connect with any of them and I spent most of the book wondering when we were going to find out "the secret" that is pretty obvious from the beginning and practically given away in the blurb.

I stuck through it to the end but was unimpressed with the author's writing or the characters, and really wished I hadn't been because it sounded so promising.

Post a Comment